Updates to the site!

By Kyle Perkins

We have added a ton of information on the front page of the site, and want to give everyone a chance to browse through it. Like we have said before, this convention is not your traditional book signing. We wanted to do something a little different than the way everyone else does things. Most authors have been to a convention or two, and they all generally have the same concept, so when anything is different, it freaks authors out.

The thing is, it’s all going to be okay. We don’t want to be just another convention that you vaguely remember in a couple of years, that blur in together with every other convention you’ve ever been to. We want you to look back on the experience fondly, and be in a state of constant anticipation and excitement for the next one.

Virginia has a lot of experience in planning signings, weddings, and just event planning in general. So, she will ensure we have all of the things that authors need to sell their books and to get exposure. I on the other hand, do not have a ton of experience with setting up conventions. I mean, I’ve never even been to one if I’m being honest. What I lack in experience in book conventions, I make up for in my immense experience in having fun. I have lived in Tampa for a very long time, and it’s a party city. I wanted to make something that was professional(The reason I have Virginia to reign it in), but also fun and intimate enough to where everyone has a blast, and authors get to have a real one on one connection with readers.

From what I know of conventions, which I assume are a lot like cons(comicon, etc), is that there is always a hierarchy. An invisible class barrier between guests and hosts. To some people, it’s intimidating, and the authors themselves are intimidating to readers, believe it or not. What I wanted to do with this, was to put all of the authors and readers on the same tier. Erase that barrier and make everyone super approachable, while at the same time, making readers and guests super comfortable. That’s why I have created this laid back, relaxed environment. I want every guest to feel like they are walking into an old friend’s house. The way we do that is to put everyone on the same level, and make it to where no one can be a diva.

We are going to have great food, and the after party is going to be a lot of fun. After a pretty laid back day of hanging with the guests and readers, selling some books, and making some new friends, we all get to hang out and listen to some good music, and have a few drinks together. I don’t want to just meet readers and mechanically sign their books. I want to make new friends and deep connections, the kind you can only make as equals. I want everyone to feel like they can approach any of us like they would a buddy and just shoot the shit.

Anyway, now I’m rambling, but you get the idea. The front page has been updated, make sure you check out the new info! As always, I look forward to seeing you all this summer. Let’s make something memorable together.

10 thoughts on “Updates to the site!

Leave a Reply

